2019 Holidays : Public Holidays 2019 For India

List of National and regional Public holidays of India in 2018

Date Weekday Holiday Name Holiday Type
Jan 1 Tuesday New Year’s Day Restricted Holiday
Jan 13 Sunday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Jan 13 Sunday Lohri Restricted Holiday
Jan 14 Monday Makar Sankranti Restricted Holiday
Jan 15 Tuesday Pongal Restricted Holiday
Jan 26 Saturday Republic Day Gazetted Holiday
Feb 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year Observance
Feb 10 Sunday Vasant Panchami Restricted Holiday
Feb 14 Thursday Valentine’s Day Observance
Feb 19 Tuesday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 19 Tuesday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Mar 1 Friday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Mar 4 Monday Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri Gazetted Holiday
Mar 20 Wednesday March Equinox Season
Mar 20 Wednesday Holika Dahana Restricted Holiday
Mar 21 Thursday Holi Restricted Holiday
Mar 21 Thursday Dolyatra Restricted Holiday
Mar 21 Thursday Hazarat Ali’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
Apr 6 Saturday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted Holiday
Apr 13 Saturday Rama Navami Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Sunday Vaisakhi Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Sunday Mesadi/Vaisakhadi Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Sunday Ambedkar Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Apr 17 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Apr 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
Apr 19 Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
Apr 20 Saturday First day of Passover Observance
Apr 21 Sunday Easter Day Restricted Holiday
May 1 Wednesday May Day Observance
May 7 Tuesday Birthday of Ravindranath Restricted Holiday
May 12 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
May 18 Saturday Buddha Purnima/Vesak Gazetted Holiday
May 31 Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted Holiday
Jun 5 Wednesday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar Gazetted Holiday
Jun 16 Sunday Father’s Day Observance
Jun 21 Friday June Solstice Season
Jul 4 Thursday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
Aug 4 Sunday Friendship Day Observance
Aug 12 Monday Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha Gazetted Holiday
Aug 15 Thursday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
Aug 15 Thursday Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Restricted Holiday
Aug 17 Saturday Parsi New Year Restricted Holiday
Aug 24 Saturday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
Sep 2 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
Sep 10 Tuesday Muharram/Ashura Gazetted Holiday
Sep 11 Wednesday Onam Restricted Holiday
Sep 23 Monday September Equinox Season
Oct 2 Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Oct 5 Saturday Maha Saptami Restricted Holiday
Oct 6 Sunday Maha Ashtami Restricted Holiday
Oct 7 Monday Maha Navami Restricted Holiday
Oct 8 Tuesday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
Oct 13 Sunday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Oct 17 Thursday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth) Restricted Holiday
Oct 27 Sunday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
Oct 27 Sunday Diwali/Deepavali Gazetted Holiday
Oct 28 Monday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
Oct 29 Tuesday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
Oct 31 Thursday Halloween Observance
Nov 2 Saturday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) Restricted Holiday
Nov 10 Sunday Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad Gazetted Holiday
Nov 12 Tuesday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Nov 24 Sunday Guru Tegh Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day Restricted Holiday
Dec 22 Sunday December Solstice Season
Dec 23 Monday First Day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
Dec 25 Wednesday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
Dec 30 Monday Last day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 31 Tuesday New Year’s Eve Observance

Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday are observed nationally.


  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day are observed nationally.

** Wish U Happy New Year 2019 ** © 2018 New Year